A new skin for Treviso’s Bailo Museum
The new entrance of the “Luigi Bailo” Civic Museum in Treviso features an interesting cross-shaped façade by Padua’s Studiomas Architetti Associati and Austrian architect Heinz Tesar.
It is a composition of eight artificial stone slabs standing out against a backdrop of white marmorino, located on the southern end of a 15th century monastery that was terribly damaged by bombings during the Second World War and rebuilt in 1952.
The Bailo Museum – named after the priest who in the late 1800s founded a “Treviso Museum” in this same spot, showcasing paintings and sculptures from various periods and countries, as well as some noteworthy Renaissance pieces – is now home to a 20th century art collection that includes the largest existing collection of works by Arturo Martini, with over 130 pieces between stone sculptures, plaster casts, objects in terracotta, ceramic and bronze, and works of graphic art.
The Museum had closed in 2003 for urgent renovations, but its redevelopment project began to flesh out only in 2010. And in 2015, finally, it was time for a new inauguration.